Quick Answer: Scheels’ gun-safe wall runs almost entirely on the 1902 Series, a Scheels-exclusive line built by Liberty Safe — not a house brand with its own factory, but a private-label catalog from an established national manufacturer. Every 1902 model, from the 25-gun ($1,899.99) to the 64-gun ($2,599.99), carries the identical 75-minute/1,200°F fire rating; only the flagship Premier Series 40 Gun Safe ($4,299.99) steps up to 110 minutes. Confusingly, Scheels labels its 50-gun model “Level 6” security while the 64-gun model is “Level 4” — and that Level badge doesn’t mean the same thing it means on Cabela’s own Liberty-built private-label line, where Level 6 buys 2.5 hours of fire protection, not 75 minutes.

Shoppers searching “scheels gun safe” are almost always trying to answer one question before driving to a store or ordering online: is this an actual Liberty safe under a store label, or a cheaper house-brand substitute? We confirmed the current lineup directly from Scheels’ own product pages (scheels.com), cross-checked against Liberty Safe’s own partner page, which confirms the arrangement from the manufacturer’s side.

What’s actually in the 1902 Series

ModelCapacityFire ratingSecurity levelPrice
1902 25 Gun Safe25 guns75 min / 1,200°FNot stated$1,899.99 (sale, was $2,199.99)
1902 30 Gun Safe30 guns75 min / 1,200°FNot statedNot currently listed
1902 50 Gun Safe50 guns75 min / 1,200°FLevel 6$2,999.99 (sale, was $3,299.99)
1902 64 Gun Safe64 guns75 min / 1,200°FLevel 4$2,599.99
1902 Premier Series 40 Gun Safe40 guns110 min / 1,200°FNot stated$4,299.99 (out of stock)

Liberty Scheels Outfitters 1902 50 Gun Safe

Scheels exclusive, built by Liberty · 50 guns · Level 6 security · SecuRam Back-Lit electronic lock · 75 min / 1,200°F · 984 lbs · $2,999.99
  • The largest 1902 model with a stated security level, and the only one in the line with a built-in 110V outlet kit for a dehumidifier or lighting.
  • Two-piece steel construction with thicker, 3-sided 4-inch locking bars — Liberty's step up from the 25-gun model's 7 locking bars.
  • For Liberty's own nationwide lineup outside the Scheels exclusive (Centurion, Fatboy, Presidential), see our best Liberty gun safe guide.

Liberty Scheels Outfitters 1902 64 Gun Safe

Scheels exclusive, built by Liberty · 64 guns · Level 4 security · 75 min / 1,200°F · 844 lbs · $2,599.99
  • Holds 14 more guns than the 50-gun model above for $400 less — but carries a lower stated security-level badge (Level 4 vs. Level 6) at the identical 75-minute fire rating.
  • Dimensions run wider and shorter than the 50-gun model (60.5" H vs. 72.5" H), which matters if ceiling clearance is tighter than floor space in your install location.
  • If raw capacity at this price point matters more than the Level badge, see our best large gun safe guide for how it stacks up against other 60-plus-gun options.

The “Level 6” trap: the badge isn’t standardized between retailers

Scheels isn’t the only Liberty-built private-label catalog using a numbered “Level” security badge — Cabela’s and Bass Pro Shops run their own six-tier Liberty-built lineup (ProVault through Magnum) with the identical “Level 1” through “Level 6” naming. The problem: the two retailers’ Level numbers don’t measure the same thing. Cabela’s own product pages put their Level 6 tier, the Magnum series, at a 2.5-hour (150-minute) fire rating. Scheels’ 1902 50 Gun Safe, labeled “Level 6” in its own product FAQ, carries a 75-minute rating — less than a third of Cabela’s Level 6 protection, and identical to every other size in Scheels’ own 1902 lineup regardless of its Level number. See our Cabela’s gun safe guide for the full six-tier breakdown if you’re cross-shopping both chains. The lesson: a “Level 6” sticker tells you something within one retailer’s own catalog, but it’s not a cross-retailer fire-protection unit — check the stated minutes and temperature directly, not just the Level number.

A second wrinkle sits inside Scheels’ own catalog: the 64-gun model’s Level 4 badge is lower than the 50-gun model’s Level 6, despite both carrying the exact same 75-minute/1,200°F fire rating. Whatever Scheels’ Level system is actually scoring, it isn’t fire-protection minutes alone — more likely steel gauge, locking-bar count, or bolt pattern, none of which Scheels’ own listings itemize clearly enough to verify independently.

Scheels’ “Level 6” at least lines up with Liberty’s own factory numbering — Liberty’s Colonial series, sold under Liberty’s own name rather than any retailer exclusive, is also Level 6 at a matching 75-minute/1,200°F rating, per our own best Liberty gun safe guide. Cabela’s doesn’t: its private-label Level 6 (Magnum, 2.5-hour rating) actually corresponds to Liberty’s own Level 10 (Presidential) in fire-protection terms, not Liberty’s native Level 6. In other words, Cabela’s re-numbered its exclusive catalog on its own 1-through-6 scale rather than reusing Liberty’s factory 1-through-10 scale — Scheels didn’t do that re-numbering, which is why its Level badges happen to track Liberty’s own more closely.

Has a 1902 Series safe ever been recalled?

We checked specifically because every new brand or private-label line on this site gets a CPSC recall check before publishing. We found no recall on record for Liberty Safe or any Liberty-built private-label catalog, including Scheels’ 1902 Series. That’s worth noting against the roughly 300,000 biometric gun safes recalled industry-wide since 2023 — Fortress (sold as Cabela’s-brand Gettysburg among others), Bulldog, Awesafe, and Sports Afield/Sanctuary all had fingerprint-lock models recalled for opening to unauthorized users. Every 1902 Series safe uses a SecuRam Back-Lit electronic keypad, not a fingerprint reader, which keeps the whole line outside that specific failure mode — a mechanical/electronic keypad has nothing to misread the way a fingerprint sensor can.

Should you buy from Scheels, or elsewhere?

Buy from Scheels if you want a genuine Liberty-built safe with Liberty’s lifetime warranty at a price point between Cabela’s entry-level ProVault tier and Liberty’s own full-retail Centurion line, and you’re comfortable treating the “Level” badge as Scheels-specific rather than a universal fire-protection scale. Look elsewhere if you want Cabela’s longer 2.5-hour Level 6 fire rating at a comparable capacity, or if you’re outside Scheels’ roughly 30-store Midwest/Mountain West footprint and would rather order a nationally-stocked Liberty model — see our best Liberty gun safe guide for Liberty’s standard retail lineup, or our Cabela’s gun safe guide for the competing six-tier private-label comparison. Shopping a sale window instead of full price? Our gun safe Black Friday guide covers a previously-seen Scheels-exclusive model (the 1776 Series) on sale, and how deep retailer discounts actually run.

The bottom line

Scheels’ 1902 Series is a real Liberty-built safe under a Scheels-exclusive name, not a budget substitute — but its “Level” security badge doesn’t travel between retailers the way a fire-rating number does. The 75-minute/1,200°F rating holds flat across the 25-, 30-, 50-, and 64-gun models regardless of price or Level badge; only the Premier Series’ 110-minute rating actually buys more fire protection, at a lower capacity and nearly double the 50-gun model’s price.